Posted in Prompts, Writing

The Air of Silence

hot-air-balloon-ride-1029303_960_720

I felt its entrance into the atmosphere. A buzzing soundlessness filled my ears and I stood very still, tilting my head to interpret the change in the air.

I lifted my eyes to the foggy heavens where the sun was hidden beneath the clouds. Everything was an orange-gray haze, and the skies were daringly empty; not a single bird flew.

But there it was: a hot air balloon drifting towards the earth. Its silent dominance filled the air as even time itself began to freeze. The moment stood still as a tingling wave of longing, anticipation, and fatigue swept over me.

“Finally,” I whispered to the contraption in the sky. “I’ve waited long enough.”

 

-Charlotte Emelia

Author:

I love to create stories and find adventure out of daily, boring things. There are stories everywhere, you just have to look.

2 thoughts on “The Air of Silence

Leave a Reply

