Don’t Fear the Future

This week has been full of anxiety. With an upcoming AP test and a sincere need for a job, I have been burdened with worry, confusion, and hopelessness. Although it was a good intervention for my procrastination, getting hit by a tidal wave is never pleasant.

I can feel this deep despair and fear of not being prepared for this upcoming AP test. I’m not ready and it’s coming very soon. This entire week I have been studying, cramming, and freaking out.

And then I think of my nonexistent job. I’m 16 and I already have senioritis. How am I going to survive after high school? How will I pay for college if my grades aren’t good enough to qualify for a scholarship? I have had a LOT of anxiety just because I haven’t applied for my first job.

With all the activities, homework, and worrying that I’m doing, I have no free time to do the things that I love. I can’t write, I can’t watch Netflix, and I can hardly breath.

It wasn’t until last night when I took a step back from my anxiety and slapped myself in the face (figuratively, of course).

Yes, I’m not quite ready for the AP test, but all I can do is try my hardest to do well. And yeah, I don’t have a job yet… but that’s okay. I’m 16, and I can figure out college when I get there. I don’t have to be completely ready or prepared when it comes along.

And maybe if I stop worrying so much, I will have time to do the things I enjoy. All I know is that things will work out. They always do.

I have a family that loves me. I’m intelligent and motivated to accomplish my goals. As long as I live righteously and be as productive and optimistic as I can be, things will work out.

Don’t fear for the future. I know it can be tough and scary when you think ahead, but things will always be okay if you remember one thing:

If you are going to make it through life, then think that way. Have goals and dreams that you are willing to follow and reach. If you don’t believe in yourself, then you won’t make it far.

Take the time that you spend worrying and cowering in fear and use it for good. Be the person you want to be and discover how to maintain it. Be organized and be prepared to hit bumps in the road of life.

Don’t give up like I did this week. We all have anxiety and stress, but don’t give in to it. It will only give you grief.

Stay strong guys. Life is going to get harder, and the world needs strong roots like us.

-Charlotte Emelia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

