Posted in Uncategorized

The Truth about Music

It is mind-blowing to me how powerful music can be. Not only is music good to listen or dance to, but certain songs can just make you feel so strongly. This sense of emotion overwhelms you and the feeling of inspiration and hope fills you up and keeps you going.

And the strange thing is that different songs appeal to us more than others in different times of our lives. Anger. Sadness. Loneliness. Confusion. Happiness. In these times, we listen or love different songs.

A couple of years ago I was in a stage of my life where I felt invisible. I was the faithful friend that seemed to always be forgotten. For some reason, the song that I listened to day and night was “A Thousand Years” by Christina Perri. The music was so rich in longing and hope- something that I was feeling constantly.

It was my symbol of moving forward and having patience.

I think about those times where I had trials, and to tell you the truth, there was always music there with me. What would I have done without it?

Music also can give you an overwhelming feeling of love and happiness. Last year, my happy song was “Yellow” by Coldplay. Each time I heard it I had a sense of gratitude and peace. It made me feel loved and happy. Every time I listen to that song now I remember those feelings.

Some songs are just simply pretty, no matter what mood you are in. Almost every song of Sara Bareilles makes me feel something deep and powerful each time I listen to her.  Songs of hers like “Manhattan” and “I Choose You” are passionate and sincere.

Instrumental music is powerful too. Some songs make me feel like I can do anything if I really tried. (Which is why I listen to instrumental music when I do my homework)

I’m sure each of you readers out there know what I’m talking about. It’s weird how the simplest things that we hardly ever think about can make a huge difference in our lives. Music is one of those small things that we never think about.

In my opinion, music is one of the most powerful things in this world.

-Charlotte Emelia

Author:

I love to create stories and find adventure out of daily, boring things. There are stories everywhere, you just have to look.

2 thoughts on “The Truth about Music

  1. I just heard the song “Yellow” for the first time in about 3 years a few days ago. It melted my heart and made me feel so nostalgic. I’m glad to see you share the same sentiment over one of my favorite songs 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

